Clickthrough rates on email are notoriously low.  With all of the emails that you get in your inbox everyday, it’s easy to see why.  There is just so much stuff out there to consume.  But just because overall clickthroughs will always be low on email, that doesn’t mean you should dismiss a low rate on your emails.  Here are five reasons people might not be converting from your emails.

  1. Low relevance.
    This is a biggie.  If the text and offer aren’t relevant to me in the buy cycle stage I’m in – then I’m never going to pay attention.  Make sure you are customizing your text and offers instead of taking a one-size-fits-all approach.
  2. The call-to-action is buried.
    I often see marketers get so caught up in setting up the call-to-action that they don’t notice how buried it becomes.  Don’t put it in the middle of a big paragraph – put it all by itself in larger, bold font.  Put it in a couple of places in the text and maybe even use a graphic button to make it stand out.
  3. Unclear or multiple calls-to-action.
    If there are too many things to do or I’m not quite sure what I’m going to get, I’ll give up quickly.  I have enough other emails in my inbox to deal with.  Make sure your calls-to-action are simple, direct and stand alone.  If all I do is read the call-to-action in your email, it should be clear where I’m going.  And don’t give me more than one choice within the email – save the choices for later once I am engaged with a webpage.
  4. The call-to-action is not compelling.
    Downloading your product data sheet is not compelling.  What is compelling is saving time or money, making more money, getting a great deal, learning more about a challenge I am facing, etc.  Focus on what I need, not what you are trying to sell me.
  5. Too wordy and/or wrong focus.
    I combined these two because they always seem to go hand-in-hand.  If you find yourself writing several paragraphs for your emails then you are probably focusing on the wrong thing.  Often it’s how great your company or product is.  I don’t care.  Think about it this way – when you walk into a store to buy something, do you want the sales associate to start selling you a product or brand, or do you want them to ask you what you want and talk about your needs?  Same applies with email – you will catch my attention with short (and easy to skim) copy that focuses on my pain points.  Once you draw me in you can tell me all about your company or product at the appropriate time and I’ll listen.
