If you are like me, you don’t have much time to read books.  And when you do have time, you don’t want to read a business book.  We are in a world of constant information overload.  For marketers, quite honestly the best information on marketing is found on the web.  However, one of my co-workers recently suggested I write a blog post on my recommended books.  I thought through the books I have on my shelf and came up with this list of influential books which inform marketing both directly and indirectly for me.  And they are actually a pleasure to read!

Switch: How to Change Things When Change is Hard, Chip Heath and Dan Heath
This is a book on change management, which I feel is the least addressed issue in marketing.  We are constantly trying to get our internal and external teams to shift to a new way of marketing in a demand-gen centric world, yet we don’t fully understand how to do that.  This book lays a great foundation for why people resist change and some easy ways to overcome it.

Digital Body Language, Steven Woods
This is the first book that really addressed the concept of how marketing automation (MA) systems can replace the sales team at the front end of a sales process.   If you haven’t bought into the whole MA value proposition yet – this is a must-read.

Never Eat Alone, Keith Ferrazzi
A good marketer will always have a good perspective on sales, as well.  I love this book because it helped me put myself in the shoes of a salesperson and think through what it really takes to build a solid relationship.  Once you have the foundation of how to build a relationship “manually” you can think through how you can build and affect that relationship as a marketer.

There is No Secret Sauce, Adam Metz
Props to our own Adam Metz for this quick read on social marketing and how to get started.  Thanks for making this a short-and-sweet book Adam!  It’s kind of the Cliffs Notes version of a social media how-to.

Groundswell: Winning in a World Transformed by Social Technologies, Charlene Li and Josh Bernoff
I have to admit this is one that is sitting on my Kindle unread at the moment.   But I still include it as a must-read because it comes so highly recommended.  It’s on my to-do list!

